Ames Free Library

"Where the Community Connects"

The Ames Free Library will be closed on Monday, July 4 in observance of Independence Day.

Culture and Geography

Offers on-demand, personalized homework help for all levels in core subjects (math, reading, writing, science and social studies) including SAT preparation. Students communicate with live, online tutors using an interactive, virtual whiteboard to chat, write, draw, copy/paste text or images and graph homework problems. HelpNow also offers skills building and test preparation where after taking a quiz, the user can then connect directly to a live tutor to review the topics and questions covered in the quiz. All live tutoring sessions are saved and can be replayed as well as shared with friends and teachers.  Through the Writing Lab, users can submit papers for detailed feedback. The Send Question Center is available for non-writing assignments such as math or science.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. The database is a must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues (Gale in Context) ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile) provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.
Covers timely issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
World History (Gale in Context) is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. World History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.