Ames Free Library

"Where the Community Connects"

LIBRARY OPEN FOR HOLDS PICKUP, QUICK BROWSING, AND COMPUTER USE!

Current hours: Monday - Wednesday & Friday - Saturday, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.; Thursday 10 a.m. - 8 p.m.

  • Visits are limited to a maximum of 45 minutes per person.
  • Total occupancy in the building is limited to 10 visitors at any given time, so short waits outside may be necessary.
  • Please go here for more information on what services are currently available.
  • Email us at info@amesfreelibrary.org, or call 508-238-2000.
  • Check out our list of online programs here!

Special Events

Thursday, October 08
7:00pm - 8:00pm
What is invisible about you? What stories are untold about you and others? What stories are missing from our culture? What would happen if we tried to make them visible? Why might it be important to try and tell these stories?  In this Master Class on Thursday, October 8 at 7 p.m.,... Read more
Monday, October 12
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed for Columbus Day.
Wednesday, November 11
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Veterans Day.
Wednesday, November 25
10:00am - 5:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closing at 5:00 pm to allow for adequate brining.
Thursday, November 26
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Thanksgiving.
Thursday, December 24
10:00am - 1:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closing at 1:00 pm to accommodate festive caroling.
Friday, December 25
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed Wednesday, December 25 in observance of Christmas.
Thursday, December 31
10:00am - 5:00pm
The Ames Free Library will close early at 5:00PM on Thursday, December 31 in observance of New Year's Eve and will not reopen until Saturday, January 2, 2020.