Ames Free Library

"Where the Community Connects"
The Queset House driveway will be closed to all traffic from Friday 5/18/18 through Thursday, 5/24/18, while it is being paved. Visitors may park in the Main Library parking lot. Additional public parking is available just up the street, next to the Rockery, and behind the Children’s Museum.

Special Events

Monday, May 28
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Memorial Day.
Tuesday, June 12
6:30pm - 7:30pm
The One Genre One Community is delighted to partner with the library in presenting a series on memoir writing.   WRITING YOUR LIFE STORY with LORRAINE LALLI AND JANET JACOBSEN   "Everyone has a story to tell. We'll help you write yours... Read more
Wednesday, July 04
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Independence Day.
Wednesday, July 18
6:30pm - 8:00pm
If you like stirring vocal harmonies, clapping rhythms, captivating choreography, and men in sharkskin suits transporting you to the golden era of classic doo-wop, come along for a rollicking evening of entertainment by the inimitable Doo-Wop DeVille band!   Free and open... Read more
Monday, September 03
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed Monday, September 3 in observance of Labor Day.
Monday, October 08
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed for Columbus Day.
Monday, November 12
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Veterans Day.
Wednesday, November 21
10:00am - 5:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closing at 5:00 pm to allow for adequate brining.
Thursday, November 22
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Thanksgiving.
Monday, December 24
10:00am - 1:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closing at 1:00 pm to accommodate festive caroling.
Tuesday, December 25
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed Tuesday, December 25 in observance of Christmas.
Monday, December 31
5:00pm - 5:00pm
The Ames Free Library will close early at 5:00PM on Monday, December 31 in observance of New Year's Eve and will not reopen until Wednesday, January 2, 2019.