Ames Free Library

"Where the Community Connects"

Special Events

Friday, December 10
10:00am - 5:00pm
The Library will be closed all day on Friday, December 10 for our annual Staff Development Day. The Library will reopen for its regular hours the following day, Saturday, December 11 from 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Monday, December 13 to Thursday, December 23
1:00pm - 8:00pm
Still have presents to wrap? The Ames Free Library has you covered this holiday season.   For two weeks - Monday, December 13 through Thursday, December 23 - we will have a wrapping station open for all to use in the Makerspace on the second floor of Queset House (available during... Read more
Friday, December 24 to Saturday, December 25
10:00am - 5:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed Friday, December 24th and Saturday, December 25th in observance of Christmas.
Tuesday, December 28
11:00am - 12:00pm
Try your hand at painting with Ms. Sandy Churchill! She’ll walk you through creating your own winter landscape. All materials provided. Remember to dress for a mess! Registration is required and will open on Tuesday, December 14. Space is limited!  Open to all students in Kindergarten through 6th... Read more
Tuesday, December 28
2:00pm - 3:00pm
Teens! Join Ms. Sandy Churchill for a painting party! She’ll walk you through creating your own winter landscape. All materials provided.  Registration is required and will open on Tuesday, December 14. Space is limited!  Open to all students in 7th grade and up.
Wednesday, December 29
2:00pm - 3:00pm
Some of us look forward to snow more than others… but don’t worry, this program is “SNOW” problem for anyone! At the Snow STEM event, we’ll read about Snowflake Bentley, make snowflake art, observe crystals, and do a snowball toss! Space is limited and registration is required. Registration will... Read more
Thursday, December 30
2:00pm - 3:00pm
Beat the winter blues with a rousing game of BINGO! The squares on your BINGO card will be filled with book titles; as we call out squares, we’ll also tell you a little about that book! BINGO winners will receive a Book Buck or a hot chocolate packet (to make at home) - everyone will leave with... Read more
Friday, December 31 to Saturday, January 01
10:00am - 5:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed Friday, December 31, 2021 and Saturday, January 1, 2022 in celebration of the new year!
Monday, January 17
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Martin Luther King Jr. Day.
Monday, February 21
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Presidents' Day.
Monday, April 18
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of the Patriots' Day holiday.
Monday, May 30
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Memorial Day.
Monday, June 20
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Juneteenth National Independence Day.
Monday, July 04
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Independence Day.
Monday, September 05
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Labor Day.
Monday, October 10
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed for Columbus Day/Indigenous Peoples' Day.
Friday, November 11
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Veterans Day.
Wednesday, November 23
10:00am - 5:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closing at 5:00 p.m. to allow certain turkeys to receive their last meal.
Thursday, November 24
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Thanksgiving.
Saturday, December 24
10:00am - 1:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closing at 1:00 p.m. in observance of Christmas.
Monday, December 26
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed on Monday, December 26th in observance of Christmas.
Monday, January 02
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed on Monday, January 2 in observance of New Year's Day.