Databases A-Z

Academic OneFile (Gale) is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.

Academic OneFile Select (Gale) provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines. The database meets research needs in subject areas including the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

Agriculture (Gale OneFile) provides a comprehensive view of agriculture and related fields. The database provides access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.

In-Library use only.  Access Census records, immigration lists, vital statistics and military records. For an introduction and tutorial about Ancestry, visit our Tutorials page.

Biography (Gale in Context ) offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.

This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.   Coverage: 1980 - current

BrainFuse’s Adult Learning Center offers live, on-demand, personalized help from qualified tutors. Patrons can access GED prep, U.S citizenship test prep, resume assistance, Microsoft Office support, and Career Resources which lists popular job search links. Microsoft Office support allows patrons to ask questions about Excel, Word and PowerPoint. Users can submit papers through the Writing Lab for detailed feedback, and the Send Question Center option gives users the freedom to receive assistance at any time of day without connecting with a live tutor.

Offers on-demand, personalized homework help for all levels in core subjects (math, reading, writing, science and social studies) including SAT preparation. Students communicate with live, online tutors using an interactive, virtual whiteboard to chat, write, draw, copy/paste text or images and graph homework problems. HelpNow also offers skills building and test preparation where after taking a quiz, the user can then connect directly to a live tutor to review the topics and questions covered in the quiz. All live tutoring sessions are saved and can be replayed as well as shared with friends and teachers.  Through the Writing Lab, users can submit papers for detailed feedback. The Send Question Center is available for non-writing assignments such as math or science.

Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research, classroom exploration, and curriculum standards.

The Britannica Learning Zone offers an engaging online tool for early—childhood learning, covering letters, words, numbers, time, sound, geography, and more.

Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research, classroom exploration, and curriculum standards.

Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, e-books, and other learning resources.

Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, e-books, and other learning resources.

Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, e-books, and other learning resources.

Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research, classroom exploration, and curriculum standards.

This site offers resources in Spanish for all ages in two unique interfaces, each with its own comprehensive encyclopedia: Enciclopedia Moderna for high school ages and up and Britannica Escolar Online for ages 6-12. Este portal le ofrece recursos de referencia en español en dos interfaces exclusivas — cada una con una enciclopedia adaptada al lector: Enciclopedia Moderna para adultos y estudiantes y Britannica Escolar Online para estudiantes de 6 a 12 años de edad.

Business (Gale OneFile) provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.

Offers digital access to the four volumes of this encyclopedia series. Includes profiles of over 700 influential African Americans as well as details on places and events pivotal to the Civil Rights movement.

Consumer Reports is a buying advice tool that will ensure you get the best deal or product. You can use it to find reliable ratings and reviews for thousands of products and help you make the most of your time and money. You can also access money-saving advice and tips, buying guides, videos and more.

Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) provides access to academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered in the database include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.

Culinary Arts (Gale OneFile) provides access to academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition. The database includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. The database is a must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework.

In-Library use only. The Easton Journal database allows you to search July 2015 - December 2018 issues by keywords such as people, places, or events.

Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile) provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. The database has an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography.

Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.

Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.

Gardening and Horticulture (Gale OneFile) provides access to academic journals and magazines focused on both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies. The database offers biotechnologists, farmers, hobbyists, and landscape architects alike access to important content relevant to their pursuits.

Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

General OneFile (Gale) is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.

Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues (Gale in Context) ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.

Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Contains scholarly and popular articles on all aspects of medicine, health, and alternative health. Also includes health-related videos, medical & alternative healthencyclopedias, health assessment tools, and a drug and herb finder.

Powered by Ancestry®  provides access to more than 4.4 billion records. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s—that can help people find their ancestors and discover a place’s past.

High School Edition provides high school students with access to magazines, newspapers, books, and other reference content. The database offers audience-appropriate information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.

Home Improvement (Gale OneFile) provides access to titles covering topics including architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and others. The database offers content that meets the needs of hobbyists and professionals alike.

Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile) provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.

Information Science (Gale OneFile) provides access to scholarly journals and trade publications essential for information professionals and other knowledge workers. The database offers coverage of topics including information infrastructure, metadata architecture, publishing, and more.

Insurance and Liability (Gale OneFile) provides access to academic journals and trade publications covering the insurance industry and topics such as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. The database offers content of interest to individual property owners and multinational corporations alike.

Kids InfoBits is the perfect educational product for today’s young learners. It’s a content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use resource featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics. It features a new, modern, graphical interface and improved navigation based on feedback from both our existing customers and student users. The design helps kids explore the product and gain comfort with database searching.

Lightbox is a dynamic, interactive non-fiction resource for preK and elementary aged students. Books for younger students include read-aloud options, or you can skip the read-aloud and advance pages at your own pace. These books also include interactive maps, videos, and links to related websites embedded right into each book. You can also check your reading with reflection or comprehension questions, a quiz or worksheet activities throughout the book. If you like experiencing stories on Tumblebooks, you'll love learning facts with Lightbox!

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.

With over 70 world languages for you to learn at your own pace (including English), Mango will prepare you for realistic conversations and strengthen everyday communication skills. For an introduction and instructions on Mango Languages, visit our Tutorials page.

Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Middle School (Gale in Context) combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile) provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.   Coverage: 1985 - current

News (Gale OneFile) provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.

Looking for your next book? Find expert read-alike recommendations and search for books by genre, appeal and award winners. For an introduction and instructions on using NoveList, visit our Tutorials page.

Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Covers timely issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.

A comprehensive resource offering personalized assessments focused on a user's interests, values, personality, and workplace preferences. Also includes career videos, an occupational database and career library, military crosswalks, VisualCV Resume Creator, and job search powered by Indeed.

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile) provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.

Popular Magazines (Gale OneFile) provides access to the most searched magazines. All of the titles are selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons and the database includes many titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries".

Is a growing resource of 7.3 million full text articles from over 1,600 sources. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and engineering literature. It supports the needs of students studying applied and general sciences.

Psychology (Gale OneFile) provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.

Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile) provides access to scholarly journals and magazines of interest to both researchers and general users. The database offers balanced content that covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.

Quickly and easily connect to the Ames Free Library's Grey House, Salem Press and Reference Shelf titles, which span multiple subjects: literature, history, and health (including resource guides for individuals with chronic illness and disabilities).

Science (Gale in Context) is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.

TumbleBooks are animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you. For an introduction and instructions on using Tumblebooks, visit our Tutorials page.

U.S. History (Gale in Context) provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.

Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers current and applicable content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile) provides access to academic journals and magazines of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science. The database offers balanced coverage of both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.

World History (Gale in Context) is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. World History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.